::Unexpected Liberation::
"drinking coffee; making plans to change the world."

"it says Abercrombie on your butt"

December 20, 2003
Asleep on my floor, is a guy I've known since September. Strange really, but I feel completely at ease with him here. In my room. Using my favorite blanket. In my life.

Up until recently, I always saw my life as a never ending cycle of drama, hurt, confusion and conformity (sp?). I followed the crowd, did and said what I thought others wanted to hear, and generally caused conflict with anyone who dared to interrupt my hazardous pattern of behavior.

I was talking to Rick today, and made a startling discovery.

I laugh with him more than I've ever laughed with anyone. I trust him with my feelings more than anyone. He shows, in so many ways, how much he cares. And I adore that. Of course, I'm still getting used to it (because at first it was weird) but he treats me like a girl should be treated.

I guess the only thing I'm struggling with now is Love. Yep, still. I'm still kind of shy about it, and unsure of myself.

But, oh. The anticipation.

For instance, this weekend.

I knew that we were going to do something special, but I had no idea what exactly was in store for me. Pink roses at the door, veggie lasagna made by his truly, red roses later on, candles and cake frosting.

Naturally, the candle wax got everywhere...the frosting was a great source of entertainment...and Rick couldn't stop talking about swimming all night.

The evening was great though. And waking up to see him in the morning was amazing.

And so, one blueberry donut, church service and Smoothie King trip later...here we are.

Rick is asleep on my floor, and I'm trying to type quietly. Love is great.

4:41 p.m. ::
prev :: next