::Unexpected Liberation::
"drinking coffee; making plans to change the world."

happy

February 21, 2004
What a strange 24 hours it's been.

Rick and I went to see Mystic River last night, and I cried.

I never, ever cry at movies, but this one made the tears start flowing. I didn't even cry when I watched Titantic 14 times.

Maybe it's the hormones...

I cried at church this morning as well.

Pastor Arnold put a twist on the sermon today and asked towards the end if anyone wanted to come to the front and recognize the Lord as their Savior. Nobody moved. He asked again-"Anyone?" And all the while, he was making his closing speech and the piano was playing. I started thinking about all the people who were sitting, not moving, and about God, who should be the most important thing. I started thinking about my pride and what a terrible thing it is, and how I should just put it aside and Praise Him. And the whole time, I was crying. Tears streaming down my face, my nose a newly turned faucet, and a feeling of incredible shame because I hadn't done it sooner. So I stood. In front of the whole congregation, I walked up to the front and lowered my head, crying the whole time. I stood there, with three other people while the Pastor prayed for us, and then we returned to our seats. He made his final closing prayer, and then it was over.

I don't know what exactly came over me, because I am certainly not the sort of person to make such a public statement. I'm glad I did it though...I feel...better.

4:56 p.m. ::
prev :: next