::Unexpected Liberation::
"drinking coffee; making plans to change the world."

It's sad, really.

April 10, 2004
I don't talk to my parents much. In fact, if I can help it at all, I prefer not to.

Their clouded viewpoint on how I live my life often creates an argument of sorts, and I just don't have room in my life for it. Now, I know that kids have problems with their parents as they're growing up. Most kids do anyway. My childhood-no different. I had problems with them, they had problems with me....it's adolescence. Sadly though, I still continue to have problems with my parents. And sometimes, it's not even my fault. They say things that are completely out of line, pull assumptions about me out of nowhere, and aren't even sorry of it hurts my feelings. Case in point:

(conversation on the way home from breakfast this morning):

Me-"I want a new bed"

Dad-"Whats wrong with your bed?"

Me-"Nothing I just want a new one"

Mom-"Hers isn't big enough for two people."

Me-(stunned)"That wasn't very nice."

Mom-"Well I'm not stupid like some people. I know what goes on."

End of conversation.

Some people might sum this up to just a parent being a parent. I, not being "some people", could sum this up to being totally out of line and rude.

One might even wonder why it is that my parents would even think to say something like that. Well, when it comes to my personal life, they know nothing. They have assumed over the years I suppose, but nothing definite. So okay, they don't know..what else do they have to go on? Well let's try this: If you want to know-ask.

The really bad part about all of this is that I don't even consider my parents as friends. I could never go to them and talk about things of much importance in my life, and usually when I'm upset about things-THEY are the ones who caused it. I don't want to try and be a part of a family that doesn't even trust me enough to believe I'm not sleeping with my boyfriend, or to sit and talk to people who insist on holding past mistakes over my head. I don't even want to tell them about my future plans because I don't want to hear what they think. Terrible, I know, but after conversations like today, who would?

1:13 p.m. ::
prev :: next