::Unexpected Liberation::
"drinking coffee; making plans to change the world."

just so you know

April 25, 2004
When I was younger, I always looked forward to being older. I looked forward to things changing, and I always thought my life would just be different if I was older.

When I got to high school, I looked forward to my senior year. I looked forward to things changing; and I thought that if I could just make it to that year, everything would be better.

Senior year, I looked forward to graduating. Life hadn't panned out like I thought; and I figured that once I graduated, everything would be different.

You'd think that I would have learned all these years. You'd think that I shouldn't look forward to being older, and that it's not what it seems. You'd think that wouldn't you?

Well I don't agree.

I've heard people tell me that I'm too young to be thinking of marriage, and that it's not so important to have a career in mind right now. I've heard it said that I should enjoy life, try new things, and not commit myself to one person so soon. I've heard that since I'm "only 19", I shouldn't take life so seriously. That "I have my whole life ahead of me" and I should "just go to college and enjoy yourself" and that "these are the best years of my life."

Don't you just love people and their uninvited input?

I looked forward to this for so many years. I spent so many hours daydreaming about my future and my dream guy; and now I'm getting all this advice about how to live my life. I hate that.

If I decide tomorrow that I want to move to Africa and study the antelopes, or get married, or buy a car that I can't afford, or even to dye my hair blonde...leave me alone! I may be "only 19" but I am pretty capable of living my life.

Thank you.

8:12 p.m. ::
prev :: next