::Unexpected Liberation::
"drinking coffee; making plans to change the world."

if you don't like it-don't tell me.

May 11, 2004
Usually, I'm up for a good conversation. I like hearing the thoughts and opinions of others, and I hear that talking is good for your health.

Lately though, I find myself having to defend my actions rather than just enjoying good conversation with semi-good people.

Let me explain...

Yesterday at work, the topic came up about me being a "goody goody". Honestly, I haven't heard that phrase in years. Especially by somewhat intelligent people. Well, apparently, the consensus is that I am-in fact-a goody goody. This is due to my lack of smoking habits, cursing habits, drinking habits, and just general disgusting habits like those. I'm confused. Holly said to me-"Cassie, you're just a nice person"-and that confused me even more. Since when is it bad to be a nice person? Would I be more socially excepted if I came to work hung over, or went on a smoke break every 15 minutes, or yelled at everyone using terribly vulgar language? Would they like me better if I slacked off and stood around on the job (man, I thought I did more than my fair share of that anyway)? Would they talk to me more if I had good "I-got-so-drunk-over-the-weekend" stories? I just don't get it.

It's irritating hearing other people and their opinions of you. Irritating.

5:11 p.m. ::
prev :: next