::Unexpected Liberation::
"drinking coffee; making plans to change the world."

Shocking.

May 20, 2004
Some interesting facts have recently come to my attention.

Ready for this?

Every minute in America, someone is raped.

Maybe even worse than that, one in every four women will be sexually assaulted in their lifetime and never tell anyone.

Those are some mad crazy facts, huh?

It makes me think back a couple of years ago when it seemed that everywhere I turned...someone my age was pregnant.

I remember in ninth grade, my friend Laura came to school and told me she was raped. I didn't know if I should believe her or not. We lived in a small town, and those things just don't happen in small towns. Or so I thought.

This makes me think back to eighth grade. My own expierience with a guy, and my attitude toward the situation later. Looking back on it, it still affects me today and my relationships with people.

How many of these girls are actually victims though? And how many of them thought they knew what they wanted until it was really happening? Many young girls who are sexually active are trying to make up for something they're lacking. Even if they don't realize it. Be it the love they don't get at home, or just low self esteem...nobody that age does it for the right reasons.

I don't even know if there is an age where it's for the "right" reasons. Even people in their 30's and 40's think it's okay for sex to be casual, and it just isn't. You have to be in love, you have to be married, and most of all, you have to have a strong relationship with God before you're really ready. I'm no expert though...

I've made so many mistakes, and most of you would be shocked. I've thought I was in love, and done things I wish I could take back. I fell in love before I was ready and mistook those feelings for the real thing and ended up with what I thought was everlasting love. It wasn't. And all because I was too young and didn't know God at all....

I've recently broken up the "real thing" because of mistakes in my past that I can't forget. I felt I had to own up to those mistakes and face them...not run away. I felt I had to keep a relationship because of how it shaped me, but I can't. I lost what I've wanted for so long, all because I couldn't let go.

Bottom line: Unless you know God, are married and are totally in love...don't sleep with anyone.

Of course, this doesn't help those girls who get raped every minute in America. Well, all I can say is that I hope they can somehow find peace in the middle of devastation. God has it all planned out...

4:21 p.m. ::
prev :: next