::Unexpected Liberation::
"drinking coffee; making plans to change the world."

He made "Boy Howdy" famous..

May 29, 2004
I haven't talked to Mike in over a year.

We parted on semi-bad terms, and just didn't try to recover from it. I don't know if it just wasn't worth it, or if it would have been too hard. Either way, until 20 minutes ago, I haven't spoken to him in a year.

It was nice though. We'd always had a fun relationship. Until the end, we hardly ever argued and he understood my crazy behavior like nobody else. Mainly because he was exactly the same way. We laughed all the time and (for the most part) our views on life were right on target with each other.

The last time I saw him, it was in downtown Seattle. We'd spent the day at the Fish Market and he'd poked a fish eyeball and grossed me out. A few hours later, he'd gotten into a car with his two friends and was gone. A few hours after that, I'd gotten on a plane and went home. I'd left my whole heart on the west coast. My sister, my friends, my comfort zone and my mountains. It was hard, and that took it's toll on my relationship with Mike. We stopped talking altogether a few months later, and I didn't hear from him until last year before my graduation. Despite that, we haven't spoken much since.

So, talking to him tonight was good. We weren't able to talk long, but after writing a long email (the kind I'm famous for) I feel happier. It's good catching up with old friends...

10:34 p.m. ::
prev :: next