::Unexpected Liberation::
"drinking coffee; making plans to change the world."

A whole lotta thinkin..

July 18, 2004
I went to Louis and Stacy's wedding today and boy, it was a tearjerker. Their relationship is exactly what a good Christian relationship should be. The love they have for each other is so obvious, and yet, you know that what they share is secret and special as well. It got me thinking about a lot of things....

On the way back, I saw a bumper sticker that said "What Would Jesus Bomb?" and it got me thinking as well...

Things aren't always what they seem. People always say that, but what does it really mean?

I never thought I could change. I thought that the person I was a year ago was the person I was going to be the rest of my life. My thoughts and ideas were all results of my upbringing, and as far as I could see, they weren't changing anytime soon. I remember sticking up for Gay rights all through high school, and arguing with the "religious" kids for not dating kids outside their religion. I remember supporting the Bush Administration, and being disgusted with the Democrats for being so stupid. I remember looking to my parents and teachers and friends for answers to life, and never giving God a second thought. I remember disliking the prayer before a choir concert, and I always stayed away from boys who went to church (no matter how awesome they were). I latched onto people who were just like me: confused, and content to stay that way.

Somehow, I evolved into someone entirely different.

I will no longer argue gay rights, and I will no longer support Bush. Not because I disagree with these things, but because they aren't for me to disagree with. If God says that being gay is wrong, then I have to stand by that. If God would never bomb a country, then I don't support those who do. I know that my parents and friends don't have any more answers than I do. It's up to me to look for the truth, but it can only be found through God. And prayers, well, they are the wonderful tools of communication that have been given to me. I'm using those up for sure:)

The point is, not everything is what it seems. Most of the things I have in my life right now, I didn't give a thought to before. People take so much for granted....

Seeing the love that Louis and Stacy share made me want exactly the same thing. Naturally, everyone wants a perfect Christian partner who shares the same values as you. It's more than that though, you have to recognize what you already have in your life before you go looking for something "perfect".

Alright, that's enough writing for now. My thoughts are becoming scattered...more later...

4:04 p.m. ::
prev :: next