::Unexpected Liberation::
"drinking coffee; making plans to change the world."

General annoyance, that's all I'm saying..

August 11, 2004
So, I've already written my allowed entry for today. Yeah, I've heard it's acceptable to write one, but two is a little obsessive.

I feel compelled to write though, so just call me obsessive.

I got into a long discussion tonight with Rachel about God. The main topic was "People: And how they take the Word of God and use it as an excuse to be mean.". Of course, that wasn't the official title...but you know...

I was watching t.v. last night and getting really upset with what I was watching. Instead of changing the channel, I continued to watch and get more angry. It was about gay marriages, and whether or not they should be legal.

If any of you are unsure about my standing on this subject, please go here and read #31.

Anyway.

There were these ridiculous people on t.v. protesting in the name of God, mind you that gay marriages SHOULD NOT be legalized and actually going as far as to say they were going to hell if they did get married (and/or continued with their current lifestyle).

I was furious.

What gives people the right to say another person's lifestyle is wrong? What gives people the right to say that a gay couple doesn't deserve as many rights as a straight couple? I mean really, who are we to judge another person when we ourselves are far from perfect? Who am I to judge another person and their relationship with God?

The God that I love is far from the self righteous and judgemental God that people make Him out to be. Bringing up Bible verses, protesting holding the cross, and yelling about going to hell is NOT the way to reach people. Yet, it seems to be the only way the people try and get their point across.

I don't want to hear another person say that being gay is wrong because the Bible says so...and then go out drinking on the Sabbath...or not go to church cause they "didn't feel like it."

Blame me for being a Christian and still sticking up for gay rights. Blame me for being a Christian and eating meat on occasion. Blame me for being a Christian and going to a movie on Sabbath or eating out or drinking caffine or ANYTHING. But you will never hear me protest something in the name of God, or use a Bible verse as a reason to dislike something or disagree with a situation.

The God that I serve/worship/love is the most amazing God I could ever imagine. He loves me in spite of all the dumb stuff I've done, bad choices I've made/will make, and will continue to love me because I love Him. He knows my heart, and what I'm made of.

And in every person, that's all that matters anyway.

10:30 p.m. ::
prev :: next