::Unexpected Liberation::
"drinking coffee; making plans to change the world."

The saner/nicer/funnier male version of myself

August 18, 2004
Joey Orlando is here!!!

I'm so happy, I can hardly contain myself.

His last name is NOT Orlando, but since he's from there, I just started calling him that..and it stuck. I can honestly say that he's the only person who can bring me back down to earth when I'm a little too far gone. I get crazy sometimes...and he's always ready with his wonderful advice and crazy sweet patience.

He's the perfect bread to my butter; milk to my cereal; hair gel for my hair.

Simply put, I love him.

Too bad he's gay.

Yep. I learned this the hard way four years ago when we first met.

I had a major crush on him (MAJOR) and for good reason. He liked the bands I did, the clothes I did, and was so down to earth and funny. I suspected something was up, but I didn't want to admit it to myself. Sure enough, he was gay. Huge (and very temporary) let down, and now he's one of my best friends. So you can imagine why I hate homophobic people...

Amazingly, Joey makes more "queer" and "fag" and "flaming homo" references than anyone I know. He doesn't care; while I take offense. Yes, we're an odd pair.

Yet, I love him.

His good advice as of late:

"Cassie, you need to kiss a black guy. I'm sure they know how to kiss."

Yep. That's Joey. My lil' sweetheart.

10:49 p.m. ::
prev :: next