::Unexpected Liberation::
"drinking coffee; making plans to change the world."

First day of school madness

August 30, 2004
My parents are so anal sometimes.

I mean really, after a long day, are your first words to me going to be the start of a lecture? It is if you live in my house.

No "Hi, how was your day" or "Hey, haven't talked to you in a few days", just more complaining about how I didn't park completely straight in the driveway...or whatever the crisis is for the moment.

I could feel my face getting red hot. I'd had a long day, and I was (am) very tired. I didn't want to hear it...and so I didn't. Naturally, my reaction was completely "out of line" and I got yelled at.

Well I don't care. Do NOT come at me with some stupid nonsense crap. Especially if those are your first words to me. I won't hear it, and I will ignore you.

-------

My first day was good, though.

I'm exhausted, and can hardly keep my eyes open...but I really enjoyed my day.

My first class was Psychology, and my professer is the slightly-less-cool equivalent of Dr. Starling (I think that's her name) in Silence of the Lambs. He told us stories about his work with criminals, and it was amazing. I'm excited about that class, for sure.

My second class was A&P. Oh boy. I can already see the massive study hours going into that one. I've already taken two and a half pages of notes, and it's only the first day. Worried? Yes, I am. I'm pretty sure I can hack it though.

My last class of the day was English (or Comp 101). I finally saw a friendly face, my good friend Preston from high school, and that made it even better. I'm not worried about the demands of this class though, because my paper writing skills are good. I'm a little rusty, but I can pick it all back up in no time.

After my classes, I drove over to McKay's to check out the textbook status. I managed to score two texbooks for $4.25...all together. Major excitement on my part, and even better--I finally found Cinderella!! It's been my favorite Disney movie since I can remember, and I haven't been able to find it anywhere. Today was my lucky day though, and I got my very own copy for $9.95!! Needless to say, I was on cloud nine when I left.

After that, I raced home to eat and change before heading off to my first day at Starbucks. And that was another incredible experience in itself. I had so much fun meeting new people and working in a new enviroment! I can't wait to work the drive thru...apparently it's very scandalous. They have a secret camera in the drive thru watching the customers, and I was told that some pretty crazy things happen. I can't wait;)

The best part? I told my manager about volunteering to run an activity in the new youth program at church. It totally messed up my Tuesday availabilty, and I was scared to tell him it had changed. Even so, I did tell him and he said (get this)-"No, it's not a big deal at all. I want you to be involved." I was totally floored! At Panera, they would have given me a hard time about needing the extra time and I probably wouldn't have been able to help with the program at all. So now, I'm really excited about Starbucks!

So, here I sit. Exhausted. And it's only going to get worse. I have my 13 hours of school, my four work days, my two volunteering days, my bible study night, and I was going to (try) to sign up for a kickboxing class. Between studying and sleeping, I will have ZERO free time. It's worth it though, I'm doing exactly what I want to be doing, and I'm very happy.

Wish me luck! Tomorrow begins another round of craziness. I love you guys...keep in touch.

7:39 p.m. ::
prev :: next