::Unexpected Liberation::
"drinking coffee; making plans to change the world."

A beautiful morning

September 11, 2004
Today is September 11th.

I have been looking forward to today all week. Friday and Saturday are my two favorite days, but I have been waiting for this day for awhile now.

Ryan flies in today. I don't know when his flight gets in, but I'm excited for him. He's been away far too long; I just hope he isn't nervous about flying today.

Nah, he's a Marine. He can handle it.

It's also Sabbath. And I decided that I am not going to church today.

It was a decision that I made late last night, and I made it because I have reached a turning point in my relationship with God. I feel like I'm going through the motions, but not feeling anything. It's an ugly, ugly emotion in the pit of my stomach, and I'm not exactly sure what to do with it.

So, I figured that I would spend some quality time with God today. I'm going to the park to read a little on my own, talk to God and enjoy an hour or so with nature. Jeremy might join me, but if he's still asleep..I'm flyin' solo.

Today is also the day of "potluck". I don't know why it's being called that, but a bunch of us are getting together this afternoon to enjoy hanging out and making haystacks. Since we're going to a park, I'm sure there will be volleyball playing, frisbee throwing and (if I have any say in it) water balloons...

I love Sabbath.

And hey! There's more going on tonight...

I finally get to go dancing!! People have agreed to go, I bought a cute pair of pants, Tristan approved my outfit and we're GOING!!! I'm so excited...

I bet you forgot that I'd forget to mention the most important part of today...but I haven't.

While I'm going on with my life, hanging with my friends and laughing, there are thousands of people mourning today. The attacks on the Trade Centers and on America hit hard, and turning on the t.v. isn't as easy as it was yesterday.

I really don't have much to say about it. I still can't believe it's happened, and although it sounds silly, everytime I see pictures...it's like seeing a movie. Fake. The reality though, is that people died. Lots of people; and more people are dying from it everyday. It's a chain reaction; dominos falling one after the other, and we're powerless to stop anything. I highly doubt that our election will change anything, and that's a scary thought.

No, I don't even want to think of the politics of the whole situation we're in. I don't want to remember three years ago, and I don't want to think that people I know could still die from it.

I'm spending today with God, my friends, and the beautiful weather. That's all I can do.

For those of you that I can't see today, know that you are in my heart and that I love you.

9:16 a.m. ::
prev :: next