::Unexpected Liberation::
"drinking coffee; making plans to change the world."

You just never know

September 15, 2004
This morning, I found out that I guy I graduated with killed himself over the weekend.

I had not only gone to school with him for four years, but he was in my Psycology class this year, and I saw him three times a week.

Apparently he was depressed, apparently he thought he had nothing to live for, so he shot himself.

We take life for granted. We take ourselves for granted.

Amazingly, I know what he went through beforehand. Not many people know, but I tried to kill myself twice my senior year, and it was a life altering expierience. Your mind is numb, completely. You can't focus on anything but the horrible things that drove you to that point, and your vision for the future causes you more pain that you can bear. All you want is for the pain to stop, and you feel that since everyone has given up on you anyway, you should just give up too. No reason not to. Right?

Human logic is crazy sometimes.

All of this brings me back to one thing:

A commercial that was popular a while ago. A girl is in a lake, drowning. Her friend stands on the dock and silently watches. The t.v. says "If your friend was using drugs, would you just ignore it?"...or something like that anyway. It's the same principle for almost everything. If someone even gave you the slightest clue that they were depressed and didn't want to live, would you do nothing? I bet you'd like to think you would do everything you could to help, but the truth is, very few do.

I know. I was in that exact situation. I wanted someone to tell me that they wanted me to live, I didn't want to die. I just wanted to know that someone cared, and that I wasn't alone. Sadly, people don't take it seriously. They assume that you're weird, or one of those people who have "issues". That's how it was with me. Nobody took it seriously, and I almost died. Almost.

Listen to people. Hear what they say. Even if the situation is entirely new to you, listen. Don't judge, don't run away. If your friend is depressed, talk to them. Listen.

12:31 p.m. ::
prev :: next