::Unexpected Liberation::
"drinking coffee; making plans to change the world."

Moral of the story: No ice cream until after you finish your paper

November 18, 2004
It's been a crazy night.

I've been working on my research paper for quite awhile now, and two hours ago, I decided that I needed a break.

So I left my house, and went to meet Jeremy for ice cream.

Begin story:

Pulling onto the main road, I got behind a cop. He was following this Jetta pretty closely, then all of a sudden he put on his lights and took off! Passing the Jetta, he headed up the street to the intersection of Gunbarrell and Igou Gap (my road). The light to go straight was red, and since he was turning left, he had to wait 'til traffic saw him before he could go.

Well, a few things went wrong at this point.

Either he didn't wait long enough, or the truck just wasn't paying attention...because CRASH. The truck hit him on the passenger side and spun his car back around so that it was facing me. Right in the middle of the intersection. Holy crap. Pure chaos broke out.

Two seconds later, another cop pulled up (obviously he was following the first cop to wherever they were headed), people were jumping out of their cars, traffic was confused and I was terrified. I had witnessed the entire scene and was in complete shock. Realizing that I would only be in the way if I stayed, I pulled into the bank parking lot on the corner and sat there. My heart was beating five million times a second and I was very near tears.

How am I ever going to be a nurse if I can't handle watching a car wreck?

Goodness. I'm such a wuss.

When I finally met up with Jeremy and told him my whole scary ordeal, all he could say was "Dammit! I'm so jealous! I wanted to see!"

Just like a man.

10:49 p.m. ::
prev :: next