::Unexpected Liberation::
"drinking coffee; making plans to change the world."

A trip down the lane of memories

December 27, 2004
I love lilacs.

They smell heavenly, they remind me of home, and they're simply beautiful.

My brother bought me some lilac candles for Christmas. They were small, probably two for a dollar, but I think they are my most favorite gifts.

They say that scent is the strongest sense tied to memory, and it's amazingly true.

I remember taking walks with my family during the summer. I was ten or eleven, and I loved walking around during the early evening. My town was small, so you could walk anywhere and be safe. It was during these walks that we'd pass the park. East City Park (or, as the kids called it, E City Park). It was HUGE, and there were houses that surrounded it on all sides. There was one particular spot on the north side that had a small alley, and housed in this alley were lilac bushes. HUGE, REAL lilac bushes. We'd always pick the lilacs and take them home to wash and display them on our coffee table. They smelled incredible, and always made me feel happy inside. Those walks with my family were important. Nobody argued, nobody was left out, and we just enjoyed each other without complaint.

I miss those bushes.

I haven't seen any lilacs since then. I buy lilac carpet freshener so my room will smell like them, but as for any REAL lilacs...there aren't any.

Thankfully, we still have candles.


10:00 p.m. ::
prev :: next