::Unexpected Liberation::
"drinking coffee; making plans to change the world."

Batteries not Included

January 14, 2005
After a long day at work, I�m ready.

Ready to write for awhile.

I�ve been doing a lot of thinking about relationships. Most girls have no idea what they want in a relationship, and with the exception of some of my closest female friends, this is a trend that I have come to accept about the female population. I don�t really want to be a part of it, but if I must continue to call myself a female, I can�t very well discount my role in the sex as a whole. I can�t change the fact that I�m a little dramatic, a hopeless romantic, and very passionate about almost everything that life has to offer. I can, however, decide what it is that I want in a man and not settle until I have it.

So here it is: My idea of the �Batteries not Included� man.

I want someone who is as passionate about life as I am. I don�t want someone mad at the world, mad at their parents, and easily depressed. I love so many different things and my interests are so broad and go on forever. I want someone who can share that with me.

I tend to be all over the place. I swear, if I never get married I�ll end up a crazy lady who is president of her garden club, bowling club, book club, and all hyped up on caffeine. Seriously, I need someone to level me out. I want someone who isn�t so much like me in the fact that they�re more mellow and laid back. I need someone who knows when to tell me to slow down and relax, and also when to just let me do my thing. I want someone to proud of me, and someone that I can be proud of as well.

I know that I�m going to be going places in my life. I know that I won�t be stuck in the same job until I�m 25, school unfinished, and no direct path that I�m taking or can take. I already know that I�m going to be something, and I want someone who is doing the same. I don�t want someone who isn�t motivated to make something of himself, and who is just content to hang out with his buddies and make money the easiest way he can. To me, life isn�t about shortcuts.

Being the girl that I am, there is a vague interest in fashion. I can�t help it�I like to shop. I need someone that can go shopping with me for a little while and give me his opinion. I�ve found shopping to be a time for bonding between girls, and when kept to a minimum, it can work the same for a guy/girl relationship as well. A guy with a good sense of fashion (or good for a guy) is awesome, and someone who doesn�t care and says �I�m a guy, I hate shopping� is a major red flag for me. I want someone secure enough in himself to shop with his girlfriend for a little while�and not complain the whole time.

I adore sports. What I know about each one individually is a different story�but I�m learning. I want a guy who will take the time to teach me a little bit while we�re watching the game. I want someone who likes all kinds of sports, and who isn�t afraid of me when I yell at the t.v. Remember? Passionate�

God is a huge part of my life. In every aspect, there is God. I need someone who shares that with me. I want someone to sit next to me in church, sing with me, and enjoy the love the God brings. I want someone who understands that my relationship with God is ever changing and so am I. I want to pray with him, have long talks about everything in the world, and dwell on the glory that is to come. I want to develop an unbreakable relationship with him through God, and share something we each other that we don�t share with anyone else.

I deal with depression daily. It isn�t something I talk about daily, but it�s something that�s there. Some days are worse than others, and when those days come, I tend to be more reflective�which I normally describe as �going crazy�. I feel things very deeply, and there are things in my life that I haven�t dealt with to the fullest extent. I need someone who can handle this. Period. I�m fully prepared to handle whatever he may deal with, and I want to feel like the feeling is mutual. I want to be able to talk without restraint and say whatever I�m feeling without thoughts of reaction. I want to know without a doubt that I�m talking to my best friend..and on the flip side, helping them through whatever they need.

I have a crazy amount of love inside of me, and with the right person, that love will come forth like water from a dam. I want to share in every happy moment, every angry day, every sad situation and every hilarious joke with someone who loves me just the same as I love them. I want to be able to drive for hours around nowhere and lose all track of time just being with them. I want long conversations until four in the morning about nothing except the game of discovery�which neither of you admits to, but both are fully aware of. I want that crazy look from across the room, or next to me on the couch. That look that just says �You are the most beautiful woman in the world.� I want to kiss him, look into his eyes and feel all the emotions going through him. Those emotions that we both have, but neither can express with words. I want to take long walks and make those places �ours�. I want to create new memories, new jokes, new songs�.I want it all.

I know he�s out there. I�m positive.

I have a message for him:

I�m coming for you (haha, that sounds scary..but it isn't). I don�t know where you are, or where I�ll be when I find you�but I�m looking. I�m not going to settle for anything less than you, and I hope that I live up to all your expectations as well. We�re going to have lots of fun, so be ready!

6:37 p.m. ::
prev :: next