::Unexpected Liberation::
"drinking coffee; making plans to change the world."

I have my glasses off and everything is foggy.

March 01, 2005
For the first time since I've lived in TN, I'm impressed.

Yes, I know. It's a far reach, but nonetheless, the fact remains.

It was snowing when I woke up this morning, and it was snowing when I got in my car and left for school. It was snowing as I drove to my favorite gas station, and it continued as I got on the interstate (though byt this time it was less actual snow and more of that stuff they call flurries). The great part?

They didn't cancel school.

In the entire six years that I've lived here, they have always canceled school when snow was a factor. Even when snow wasn't a factor they canceled school...and this has remained a constant for six years.

Don't get me wrong, I would have been happy for the day off. More than happy since I was running late (yet again) anyway. However, it would have been made sour by the reason why we'd have been able to stay home, and it would have been a fact I would have talked about all day long.

Damn Tennessee school system.
Damn these people not knowing how to drive in snow.
Damn these babies freaking out at the tiny little flakes that threaten to beautify the landscape and bring hope into the hearts of those who know what it feels like to have made a snowman...or ten snowmen...and have a snowball fight...and sled down hills of snowy goodness.

Yep. That's what I'd been saying. Had they canceled school.

However, they did not. And so I'm sitting here. In the library...bored. Class isn't for another hour, and I'm bored.

Damn the Tennessee school system.


9:43 a.m. ::
prev :: next