::Unexpected Liberation::
"drinking coffee; making plans to change the world."

no title. just words

March 15, 2005
Hotornot annoys me.

I mean, sheesh people. "I'm into fairly good looking girls who are somewhat intelligent."

Somewhat intelligent? Don't aim too high, buddy.
-------

I'm sitting in the library about to bust out the blueberry poptarts. I think I'm far enough away from the librarian to be safe, but just in case, I have my handy dandy newspaper to cover up any evidence of wrongdoing....

The newspaper has some interesting reads today.

Martha Stewart is holding a crocheted poncho in the front page of the business section-A gift from a fellow inmate. How sweet.

The California law banning gay marriage is ruled unconstitutional. It was bound to happen, people. I don't want to hear a thing about it.

Kid Rock is coming to headline at Riverbend. Yes, because he's such a talented musician. Spare me.

(side note: my poptarts are almost gone and the boy next to me smells like Seth)

An interesting letter to the editor got my mind working.

"You can't be against cloning and be for the use of embryonic stem cells."-Sen. David Fowler.

Stem cell research is one of those long debated topics that will continue to invade conversations and deal with issues of morality, no doubt. Personally, I'm completely for it (Stem cell research, that is), and encourage people to look at it from a different view other than the possibility of cloning, or the fact that it's a potential human being.

In my opinion, life is the time between birth and death. A baby is born, it is breathing the same air that I'm breathing. It is alive. You want an accurate definition of Life? http://www.dictionary.com Type in the word.

Please don't turn this into an abortion debate, I simply can't handle it. I'm talking about stem cell research here.

Most people, for all their good intentions, have no idea what at stem cell actually is. To clear this up, I will explain. Essentially, a stem cell is a blank cell that can be turned into almost any type of tissue in the body. So, if you take a stem cell and convert it into a cardiac muscle cell and then inject it into a heart that has been damaged by a heart attack, that cell can help to repair the damage.

So where is the problem? Right now, the research involves the use of a human embryo, and some people don't like that idea at all. The embryos being used are product of the in vitro fetilization process, and since this takes place in labs, those embryos have never seen the inside of a uterus. Stored in liquid nitrogen, they are leftovers. Plain and simple. Some people don't like the idea of it, saying that no matter how the embryo came to be, it could potentially be a real person given the right circumstances. Other people wonder how denying a cure for those that have already lived, breathed, loved, sang, touched, and walked on the earth is moral.

The letter that I read today was pretty short. The author just made his few points, and it was over. However, he ended saying this-"Those who bring up the subject of morality should consider the morality of blocking the means by which so many can be helped."
-------

Have a good day, kids.

9:25 a.m. ::
prev :: next