::Unexpected Liberation::
"drinking coffee; making plans to change the world."

Prank calls to a guy named Tom, the back porch, saying good bye, and paper hearts

April 30, 2005
Sabbath School took a lot out of me this morning.

The kids were nuts today. All hyped up on a Saturday morning with nowhere to go....except my classroom.

When it came time for crafts, I let my other teacher take over while I sat on the floor with a few of the quieter kids. I love those kids; the ones that are so much like I was when I was their age. The ones who sit and observe rather than jump right in and start playing. One little girl, Cienna, is my favorite. She hardly smiles, she hardly talks, and getting her to hang out with the other kids is really tough. I love her. I know it's wrong to have favorites, but she is one of mine.

Today, I showed her how to fold paper hearts. A few of the other kids joined us, and we made lots of them. By the time class was over, Cienna had five of them and we punched holes in the corners and ran a piece of string through each. Just seeing her smile made me feel amazing. The girl hardly ever smiles at anyone...and I got one.

Being a teacher is great.
-------

I started feeling sick around 10pm last night.

I was sitting in a chair at Don's (Seth's brother) house, and Seth was sitting beside me. We were laughing, talking about ducks, listening to Beastie Boys ring tones, and eating ice cream. Josh and I were taking crazy pictures on Seth's camera phone, and the three of us were ignoring conversation around us and laughing at our own stupid jokes.

I kept glancing at the clock. The later it got, the more my stomach threatened to hurl the contents of my dinner on the carpet.

Finally, around 11, Seth and I decided to take a walk. We didn't get far. He is now, officially, renting the house right next door to his brother, and we ended up sitting on the back porch for an hour or so.

We talked. We joked around. We were serious. And I didn't know if I would cry. I thought about this past year and all that's happened, and we talked about it a little and just hugged.

He told me that he's falling for me. And that he's never met a girl like me before.

I sat in silence, trying to sort out my feelings.

It's strange, but I've never met a guy like him either. So full of love for life, so content to just live and be who he is, so happy to give everything he has to the girl of his dreams, and so willing to invite that girl into his life and share all that he can with her. He's crazy, he's not shy, he's open, he's a child, and he's a man. So different than everything that I know, and yet, so good for me because of that.

So today, I'm lonely.

I don't really want to go do anything, and I don't really want to sit in my room.

Actually, a good movie, a good couch, a good platter (yes, platter..I'm hungry) of food, and a good friend would be nice.

...and something is up with Diaryland. I added a few new things to my "67 Things" list...and they haven't shown up yet. It is now "75 Things", so just keep checking and hopefully they will show up soon;)

6:02 p.m. ::
prev :: next