::Unexpected Liberation::
"drinking coffee; making plans to change the world."

The Travel Diaries

June 20, 2005
(This is my Travel Diary Series..written in the days since I've been here. There are only three so far, so be kind and understand that I'm busy. I miss you guys)

June 15th

Good ol' Microsoft Word will have to for now.

My internet isn't working this high up.

I have made it. I made it through my many goodbyes, the security gates in Nashville, somehow both of my planes were on time, I passed up Starbucks for a mango smoothie, and now I�m on my last plane with about two hours to go.

The only sad part is that I'm sitting between two windows, so my view of San Francisco at night isn't going to as spectacular as I had hoped. Oh well, I've seen it.

My current plane has proved interesting. It has T.V. screens (something that I have never seen on a plane before) and lots of crying babies. One is sitting right behind me, and at the moment it's irritating the crap out of me. I'm never having kids. Someone is eating some sort of Chex Mix thing...and it's making me sick just smelling it. I have always puked after eating those, they're disgusting. The fun part is that they showed Hitch, the first movie date that Seth took me on. Yay. I didn�t buy the headphones because I wanted to sleep, but it was funny to watch it silently during my awake moments. It just finished, and now they're showing old reruns of Friends...I kinda wish I had headphones for this.

I think that baby only cries when I start listening to my music. It's headphoned of course, so it's not my fault...but I swear he's doing it on purpose. Every time I stop the music to check on his lungs, he stops. So then I start up again, thinking he's finished, and it turns out...he was only kidding. He's got more. The guy next to me is getting mad because he�s trying to sleep; luckily, I've already taken my nap.

So that�s about it for now. No real news, just...stuff.

June 19th

So it's Sunday, the 19th. Father's Day. I feel bad that I couldn't call my dad today, but I don't have cell phone service up here, and I was super busy anyway.

I've been up here since Wednesday night (or early Thursday morning�however you look at it), and it's been quite a ride so far. The first night was really rough. I was sick because I hadn't eaten, I was scared and overwhelmed, and Seth and I were on the verge of "having it out". Again.

The next morning was much better. The day got better, and I smiled a lot. Camp is going to be awesome...I only wish I had time to write more. As it is, this journal will have to wait until I get home to make it online. Oh well, you guys can wait. (Ed. note: It's not waiting...it's here!)

All the new counselors came in today. So now we have everyone. They all seem like very cool people, and so I'm totally stoked about hanging out with them this summer. I have already clicked with one girl, Vanessa. Right away, we became friends and discovered that we have the same birthday. She goes to Southern, so it'll be awesome to come home and hang with her. I have a roomie!! Well, at least until next week when she has to move in with her kids...

So yeah..the juicy stuff. Seth and I are "just friends". No dating whatsoever this summer. I think it will be good for us (and I know that it'll be good for me...no matter how much it hurts now). We both have some thinking to do, and some growing to do...so I think that this summer is the perfect time to do so. He's amazing, and I couldn�t ask for a better friend. He tells me that I'm his best girl friend, the best girlfriend he's ever had, and that I rank pretty high up there with some of his guy friends. I think that�s pretty darn good...so I shouldn't be sad. Right? Yeah, we'll see....

All right, it's nearly one a.m. and I have to be up at 7:20 to be able to make breakfast and start morning rotations. I really miss everyone..but it's a different sense of reality out here. I couldn't even remember what day it was today, and I never know (or care) what time it is. I love it.

June 20th

I'm having "one of those days". I don't know why...and actually, it started out pretty okay.

I got to go horseback riding today, and that was fun. I got a stubborn horse named Ziggy, and he was a challenge for sure...but I enjoyed it.

My legs will thank me in the morning.

It's simply beautiful up here guys, you have no idea. Or some of you do, but I'm sure most of you don't. I swear, the Northwest and West Coastal areas are the most beautiful places I have ever seen. God has done amazing work..and it's evident everywhere I look.

For those of you that pray, please do so for me. I'm going to be (and am currently being) challenged in ways that I've never been..and it's going to be a crazy turning point in my life. I've already seen changes in these five days...and it blows my mind.

11:54 p.m. ::
prev :: next