::Unexpected Liberation::
"drinking coffee; making plans to change the world."

Travel Diary 6

June 28, 2005
June 27th

Today was....Monday.

I had my first rotations for Crafts today. It was interesting, and eventful, and I even got to teach my first class.

We made little pots out of clay and windchimes when we had time. Since we had all girl cabins come through today, it was fairly quiet. Some of those little girls can be mean though, and I had forgotten about that.

I'll remember on Wednesday. Tomorrow, we have the boy cabins. Yay.

I also got to take my buddy cabin to dinner and evening recreation. Candy bar kickball. Kids against staff. You can only imagine what happened there.

My buddy cabin consists of eight of the smallest girls attending camp this week. They're cute and always want to sit by me and hold my hand...but goodness, I forgot how needy little kids are. It should be an okay week though, and I'm looking forward to tomorrow.

Tonight was also the second night of the Daniel play. We're putting on the play about Daniel and the Lions Den. I get to play an evil wise woman...and I think I do a darn good job at it:) We start on Sunday night, and have parts of it every single night until Saturday evening. We also have a Walk Through The Bible on Sabbath afternoon, and I get to play Sarah. The "messenger from God" asks me "Sarah, why did you laugh?" and I get to lie and say I didn't. Camp is keeping me busy, but the blessings are numerous and well worth the tired feelings.

I gave the morning worship this morning, and that was an awesome feeling. I haven't led out in a peer worship in quite some time, and so I was a little nervous about it. Aside from the fact that it was at 9am, and I wasn't really awake yet....:)

I talked about change, and how amazing it is. I know, it's my theme for the summer. Change. It's an incredible thing, and while it's difficult to deal with sometimes...it's always for the best. God changes people, and you can live when you know God...even though you die. When I first became a Christian, I changed...and part of me died. I became someone else, and started to live in different ways. I noticed it right away, and to this day...I still notice it. It's something that I would never take back, and hope to feel again this summer. That feeling of renewal and change, that feeling of grace and love; they're so important.

I heard an amazing quote the other day: "You only love God as much as you love the person you hate the most." So true. It's important to remember not to judge, not to dislike, and not to jump to conclusions. Not everyone is alike, and you have to remember that the differences are what make the world what it is. Shambles and all.

Of course, as imperfect as we are, we will never remember that when someone wrongs us or hurts our feelings...but it's something to think about at least. I know I have been.

As for Seth and I, we're okay. I'm keeping my distance and keeping busy. I need to give him space, and I totally need my own. He is an amazing person, but to make a relationship work in the future, we need an evaluation of priorities. Right now, I believe we're in the same place as far as that goes. We're both at camp to do our job and have an amazing summer, but our plans for September remain unclear and uncertain. What will be, will be. And I need to be okay with that.

All right, I think it's time for bed. It was good to write for awhile:)

Miss you guys.

11:51 p.m. ::
prev :: next