::Unexpected Liberation::
"drinking coffee; making plans to change the world."

Travel Diary 9

July 06, 2005
So, forgive me.

I haven't written in quite some time, and I'm sorry. Family Camp started this week, and although I've had a very relaxing few days since it all began, I've been very busy.

It is truly a different world out here.

I haven't been feeling too well today, so I took it somewhat easy. I painted a few things and took a few cold showers. Everyday is beautiful and cloudless, but very HOT. I had a touch of a fever this morning and some dizziness, but it's subsided and I'm about to head to the river to sleep.

Sleeping outside under the stars is the cure for everything. Honest.

I really can't imagine spending my summer anywhere else. So many things have been brought to my attention here, and life has taken an amazing turn...I honestly can't imagine returning home with my new outlook. I have no idea how people are going to react, and if they're going to like who I have become. I've known most of my friends for so long that, if anything, I'm likely to only stay good friends with a couple of them. My priorities have changed, my attitude has changed, and I can't see myself doing a lot of the things I used to do with them. Don't get me wrong, I love my friends dearly and they are all wonderful people, but things have changed. A lot.

As for work, I'm really excited about returning to Starbucks. I love my job, and I'm happy that I get to work with so many amazing people. I love working with one of my best friends (H.L, you know that's you) and I love the atmosphere. Since I'm not going to be in school this next semester, I'm really excited (really, really) about working.

And my family. Goodness, I have no idea how they'll be able to handle the changes. I can remember a time when I was so against God and all He stood for (I'm sure some of you remember that) and now...oh wow, how things have changed. In the short time I've been here, everything has come into some sort of perspective...and it will be interesting to see how the people I love handle it.

(Authors Note: I wrote this last night before I went to the river..obviously:)...and it was an amazing night. Wasn't my first time sleeping there, but I'm always amazed that I wake up smiling. I love it here. And check out my new pictures!)

6:18 p.m. ::
prev :: next