::Unexpected Liberation::
"drinking coffee; making plans to change the world."

Travel Diary: Happy Sabbath

July 10, 2005
Ah, the beauty of camp life.

The true colors of those that you thought you knew truly do show, and sometimes it's a blessing...and other times it's a rude awakening.

For me, it's been both.

Seth and I are completely finished. There is nothing there, and after the events of the last few weeks, I highly doubt that there ever will be. It's kind of sad in a way, because my family really likes him (my dad especially), but sorry guys...he's not for me. It's easy to talk about now, but when the summer ends...that's when the real test begins.

Anyway.

I've had lies told to me, hurtful words spoken, and been broken down more than I bargained for. I think we can all agree that a guy who allows these things to flow from him isn't good enough for me, right? Right. Good. I don't want anyone thinking bad things about Seth, because he really does have amazing qualities, but we're not right for each other at the moment...and I don't know if we ever will be. Only God can tell.

Moving on.

Sabbath is now over, and it was a wonderful one. I've had a rough couple of days, and it was a true blessing to have Sabbath come in the middle of my worst. I remember falling in the love with the Adventist faith for this exact reason:Sabbath. It's sacred and holy and a true gift from God. I truly did find healing today as I sat by the river and read my new book, watched Ryan knit me a hat, ate my veggie turkey, and soaked up the sun. The weather was perfect as it is everyday, and I learned much about relationships and how they work. It feels good to have found peace and love and understanding within myself, and for today, I am thankful.

(Note: This was written on Saturday, but I posted on Sunday...just in case anyone was wondering)


11:09 a.m. ::
prev :: next