::Unexpected Liberation::
"drinking coffee; making plans to change the world."

Interesting days spent alone

October 02, 2005
It's been a beautiful Sunday.

I went and got new tires on my car, scoured the city for tile that I could break (with no success) and took a nice long drive to unconciously test out the aforementioned new tires.

It was amazing.

I drove to a part of the city that I'd never seen (which was pretty difficult to find) and then started up the side of Signal Mountain (from the part of the city I'd never seen, making the drive up this particular side of the mountain new as well).

It was so beautiful. I love to drive, and I love to drive alone even more. I haven't spent much time alone in the recent weeks, and today was so needed...I didn't even realize it until I was driving home. The city that I live in is so beautiful, and so many people take it for granted. Including myself on most days.

I love the outdoors. I love to see the trees, feel the wind, and smell the air. Today made me miss my summer friends. Those people who appreciate nature as much as I do...and more.

I remember one night at the very end of summer. We had just closed Sabbath with songs, prayer, and hugs. It was the very last one that we'd all have together, and very special.

Jay and I decided to walk through the woods to get where we needed to be. During the day, you can see something that looks like a trail weaving it's way down the hill. At night, you can't see anything unless you have a nice headlamp or flashlight.

It was night, and we had neither.

A deliberate choice I'm sure, as we'd become accustomed to the pitch black darkness that found it's way to us at nightfall. With no city lights for miles, the dark was as real as the ground beneath us.

So as we made our way down the mountain, laughing and holding each other for support, a lump started to form in my throat. It was the very last night; the last time that I would walk down that hill in total darkness with my sweet summer friend. Halfway down, I stopped and sat in the dirt. Jay stopped and sat beside me, and the conversations began.

We talked for a long time. And it was a sweet night. I kept looking around me at the world that I had grown attatched to, and at the person I had grown to adore.

Yeah. Happy memories.

Have a good Sunday.

1:36 p.m. ::
prev :: next