::Unexpected Liberation::
"drinking coffee; making plans to change the world."

"Oh wow. I just realized that it's Thanksgiving! There's FOOD at my house!!"

November 24, 2005
Thanksgiving.

It's one of those hoildays that has always quitely sneaked in the back door, and when finished, it polietly left. No real 'drama' has ever happened on Thanksgiving; and I've always enjoyed a day where I can stuff myself full of good food, take a nap, and eat some more.

Which is like a prize to me. I'm poor.

However, that is not the point. The point is that today was not like years past. Today I was challenged, mentally and physically, and at times it was hard to remember that "this life is a beautiful life".

I worked seven and a half hours this morning. I was excited because I'd get paid extra for my time, I had fun people to work with, and last year was a piece of cake...so this year would be the same, right?

Not so much.

We were busy. We were the busiest I have ever seen Starbucks (and I seriously doubt that this day topped them all...but it seemed like it) and I had a LOT of face time with a LOT of unhappy people. Somehow, holidays bring out the bad in many people, and they lack a little thing I like to call decorum. They were rude, ungrateful, and rarely smiled. Yes Chattanooga, Happy Thanksgiving to you too.

We had one seriously irrate customer. She was loud, disrespectful, and even went as far as to tell the other customers (loudly) that Starbucks wanted to "rule the world". Which, in all honesty, may be true....but I think they'd do a lot better than all those other people that try to rule the world. You know who I'm talking about.

Anyway.

During her whole tirade, I wanted to cry. I wanted to burst into tears and tell her to get out of my store and never come back. It was incredibly hurtful to know that people like that really do exist, and that they find it acceptable to be awful to other people. On Thanksgiving.

After she finished yelling, she went outside, sat down with her three dogs, and read the paper.

I just don't understand people on that level. At all.

However, I am glad to be alive though. Life is truly a blessing and I am very thankful that I am able to see it's evidence every day.

9:00 p.m. ::
prev :: next