::Unexpected Liberation::
"drinking coffee; making plans to change the world."

"She's been wishing on too many stars again..."

November 26, 2005
Before I left for California, Heather Lynn and I had a "day". We went downtown, played in the fountain, drove around and found a random cliff to sit on, and ate expensive ice cream. It was our special day before everything changed for the summer, and we cherished it.

Today, we did it again.

I think we've both realized that I really will be leaving soon, and so we put everything (and everyone) on hold for the day and took off. People rarely (and I mean, rarely) surprise me, and so when she said "I have a surprise for you"...I wasn't sure what to think. Apparently "being in the know" wasn't something I was going to experience today.

It's hard to explain all that we did this afternoon. In short, we took pictures, drove around, and listened to music. It was so much more than that though, and I found myself lost in my thoughts as she drove.

This year has been a crazy one. I have grown more than I ever imagined, and I am hesitant to let it go. In many ways, the people that I met and spent time with taught me more about life than I ever could have learned on my own. Had I not been exposed to the things I was, I never could have became the person that I am right this second. The people that loved me when I didn't love myself, the people that made me laugh harder than I ever knew I could, the people that told me I was beautiful and smart and wonderful...these are the people I will miss.

Heather Lynn. The crazy girl I never thought I would have anything in common with...and all of a sudden, I did. At the very least, an understanding of life and that it reaches far deeper into us than we realize. Our "very involved" friendship that we both need so badly...a fact that neither of us would ever really admit. I don't think I have ever had such a silent understanding with another person...a person who, in so many ways, is exactly like me. And oh so different.

I'm really going to miss days like these. Days that are so comfortable, untelling, and random. Days that I live for.

Days filled with adventure and discovery.

Few people have ever possessed this side of me...the side that wants to get up and go. The side that wants to find some random place and make a memory.

I will miss it.

p.s. New pictures on myspace. From today.

5:41 p.m. ::
prev :: next