::Unexpected Liberation::
"drinking coffee; making plans to change the world."

You want to live the American dream? Become an American.

April 11, 2006
Illegal Immigration.

We've known it to be a problem for decades, and now the problem has become a serious hot button issue with everyone in the U.S.

This is the way I see it (and the way I have come to understand it):

One in every twenty workers is an illegal immigrant. Naturally, this statistic doesn't hold true for every area of the United States, but in the big urban areas it's rings true.

More or less.

The idea behind outlawing the immigrants is that they are taking lower paying jobs that Americans "supposedly" won't want. Therefore, causing the average working class male under the age of eighteen to lose about $1,700 per year in income. You might think it isn't saying much, and you might even argue that immigrants help to stabilize our economy by spending the money we pay for those "lower" paying jobs on tangible goods. Which would be true.

However, footing the bill for the public hospitals and schools are the states in which these immigrants reside. Which isn't completely fair because as soon as that bill becomes considerably higher, my taxes become higher. And I am not okay with that.

I have always been more of a liberal than a conservative. Even in the midst of going to church and even working for the church, my mindset has always been very liberal. I believe that everyone should have an equal shot at life and whatever life has to offer, for no one person is any better than another. HOWEVER, illegally coming into a country and expecting to be treated the same as everyone else without wanting to be an "official" part of that country is unfair.

It would be like me sneaking into Canada and insisting that I receive the wonderful medical care benefits they receive, but refusing to become Canadian.

And that's all I have to say about that.

1:07 a.m. ::
prev :: next