::Unexpected Liberation::
"drinking coffee; making plans to change the world."

Written to the same song, as always.

May 13, 2006
Some days, I really wonder if I should be a psychologist.

I don't even know if I can spell that.

Listening to the problems of people doesn't bother me, and most of the time I am able to look at everything objectively and give advice where I can.

Of course, going into the professional side of it, I'm sure I'd be annoyed by all the people with problems I would consider trivial. Doesn't matter how objective I'd like to think I am, people do annoy me sometimes.

Becca and I were talking about family stuff today. As we often do when we catch up; she fills me in on the latest, and I sit there stone faced through most of it. I'll be the first one to admit that my family isn't of the "normal" variety, but the definition of "normal" is a personal one.

In all fairness, the side of the family that I grew up with is normal. I really didn't see it growing up (like most kids), but I had a pretty good childhood. I had my years of childhood rebellion, and my father had his years of learning. It isn't raising a daughter.

Especially one with a huge chip on her shoulder.

And then comes the other side of things. My mother.

Though it took me years to realize it, my luck kicks in here. I didn't have to grow up with her. I didn't have to be sucked into her life of endless pitfalls, drunken nights, and random marriages. My sister, as the oldest child, was sucked into it anyway. The younger two, by default, were sucked in as well. Had I been more curious, I probably would have been.

And this is where the psychologist side of me starts.

The last time I saw her was two years ago, and the last time I talked to her was my nineteenth birthday. When it comes to her, I am able to become cold. I am able to take out nearly every emotion and remove myself from the equation. Only sometimes do I falter, and even then, it's only brief.

(Random side note: I just decided to leave this and never put it on diaryland. I went to another page, stayed awhile, and randomally decided to come back here to see if my words were still sticking around. They are. Weird.)

I think I am done sharing for today. It makes me sleepy.

10:45 p.m. ::
prev :: next