::Unexpected Liberation::
"drinking coffee; making plans to change the world."

Turn, turn, we almost become dizzy.

May 26, 2006
I live to drive at night.

As I crossed the highway tonight, so many memories from the beginning of my time here resurfaced.

The scene: Me driving through a tunnel of fog.

The music: Dave Matthews-Dancing Nancies

The memories: Christmas in Sandpoint. The very first night I met Dil, saw AC for the first time in four-ish years, chips dipped in a watermelon margarita, and endless Charades. Tons of laughter, sliding down steep icy hills in total darkness, and forgetting that my tennis shoes would not uphold the weather standards. Fast forward a few days....throwing snowballs mixed with sand into the lake, road trip to Moscow, wearing hunting clothes, and the "tiny" windshield wiper crisis. Scavenger hunts leading to cold spagetti and broken cookies, celebrating the Jewish holiday with non Jewish people, and learning that my Northwestern winter driving skills are not too shabby.

Feeling free. Unstoppable. Loved.

Knowing that I am a grown up for the very first time, and putting myself out there in ways I never thought possible.

Learning that "chance" is a game I will play for many years to come, and realizing that I am completely okay with it.

Driving the long bridge, rolling down my window, and breathing in the air from the lake. Feeling content for the first time since moving. Scared, but content to be so.

And through it all, Dave played on.

I can't wait to return.

1:41 a.m. ::
prev :: next