::Unexpected Liberation::
"drinking coffee; making plans to change the world."

A familiar glow from a headlamp.

June 10, 2006
I was almost asleep this afternoon.

Saturday afternoon naps are the best, and I was nearly there. Then, somewhere in the back of my head, I thought about California.

My mind was instantly awake. And I tried to remember what the date is today. Another week or so, and camp will be starting. My heart sank a little bit.

And I fell asleep.

Now, after reading Monica's entry about California, I am compelled to write my own. I simply can't help it.

I'm going to miss it this year. It's amazing how one summer can change your life so profoundly. Sneaking out of the lodge, midday trips to the river, the evil wise women, Indian camp, and that glorious rock in the river.

I used to climb out there to that rock, sit right in the middle of the rushing water, and stare. My life started on that rock, and I would watch the sunset and think how amazingly lucky I was to just be.

That was the summer that I learned it was okay to be dirty. It was okay to run around barefoot, hair messy, and face completely sunburned. I learned about the power of friendship, song, and appreciation of nature. I learned more about God, love, and life then any school or church could have taught me.

And somewhere, in those mountains, I found me.

It was all about the water fights, the nights at the river, the afternoon homemade smoothies, the cookies and milk at midnight, spending hours in the art building with no windows, teaching, growing, laughing, trips to Taco Bell on days off, swearing off Taco Bell after that, playing a part in a play every single night and still not being able to remember lines, jumping off cliffs, night hikes, dressing up for rodeo night, face paint, and showers that never worked right.

Some of the best times of my life....and I miss it.

8:22 p.m. ::
prev :: next