::Unexpected Liberation::
"drinking coffee; making plans to change the world."

I love you Diary! You are the best!

March 23, 2004
Yes, I protest the closing as well.

I was just making a point.

It's so hard to please people, so hard. Diaryland has always been something for me. A place to vent my feelings, a safe haven. I have always written with an audience in mind (you have to), but it's still been a place to turn when I can't talk to anyone.

There is this part of me that says things better when I write them. I take my time, and think about exactly what I want to say and what point I want to make. You just can't do that when talking to someone in person. Talking is like verbal tennis, and if you pause for too long then you lose. Period.

It's rough writing with an audience though. This online diary fad really does have it's drawbacks. You can really offend people, hurt them, or just plain make enemies. It's hard to decide what is more important: Taking a stand and writing all that you feel and think, or editing your words for those who could get angry. Correct me if I'm wrong, but I thought the purpose of a diary was to write about anything in your life that you may be confused about or find amusing. Anything goes, right?

Apparently not.

It really is a double edged sword. I get the satisfaction of writing what I want and making points 'til my fingers fall off, or I hurt someone I love and make someone angry at me because of those points.

So, I guess I really don't have a conclusion to this. I'm not going to close my diary, I would miss it too much. I just wish sometimes that "Freedom of Speech" could be what it was intended to be.

6:23 p.m. ::
prev :: next