::Unexpected Liberation::
"drinking coffee; making plans to change the world."

Power in humility

April 17, 2004
I woke up this morning feeling very well rested. Even peaceful.

All things considering, it felt nice.

I spent last night with my friends. Those long time buddies I see occasionally, but not often. We laughed, made fun of each other, and watched gleefully as our waitress dumped a whole bowl of salad on Isaac. It was a great night.

And when I woke up, I was looking forward to a day alone. I wasn't planning on going anywhere, or being with anyone. I had decided to spend the day with myself. As I lay in my bed though, a strange feeling came over me. I wanted to be out. I wanted to go to church and be around people. Rick and I have always enjoyed being there together, and I needed that comfort. So I went. I got up, got dressed and took off. Pastor Arnold talked about "Pride" today, and I thought to myself-"What could be more perfect?"-it was the perfect setting for evaluating myself and what I give to other people.

This weekend is still going to be a little rough (all things considering), but I can hardly wait until Monday to talk about all the thoughts that have been going through my head.

-------

And for the record (James), I DO NOT look like a 12 year old boy in my picture. Jerk.

2:09 p.m. ::
prev :: next