::Unexpected Liberation::
"drinking coffee; making plans to change the world."

You missed me. Admit it.

July 07, 2004
In hindsight, it could have been worse.

I could have been robbed and even killed, and that would have made my trip to Seattle worse than it was.

It was more of a disappointment than anything else. I had high hopes for the city I love, and although most were met, I still left with an odd feeling.

For starters, the guy who is dating my sister (boyfriend? I'm not so sure) didn't get along with me that well. I suppose he tried in the beginning, but I sensed something off with him, and it made my guard go up automatically. I guess I could have tried harder, but what was the point really? I'm not a fake person, and if I don't like you, then I won't act like it. So, after a few days of waiting, I just didn't care anymore. Honestly, I gave it a few days, but it just didn't work out. Oh well.

My sister was another situation entirely. She's changed in the past year or so, and I can't say that it's a change that I like. Or maybe (more likely) it's me that's changed. I used to look to her as a role model, and I wanted to be just like her in every way. During the past week though, it became harder to remember why. Don't get me wrong, I love my sister. She's my only link to my other family, and she's the only one on that side who has acted like I matter. I love her, but we are two very different people. Similar in some ways, but if you look hard, very different as well.

So really, my trip wasn't horrible. It had it's bad parts, but it also had some really awesome parts:

1. I'm a dead ringer for the Statue of Liberty.

2. My sister and I almost drowned 487 times...and couldn't stop laughing about it.

3. I ate my very first garden burger and became hooked.

4. I went to my very first MLB game with the Mariners and Rangers and saw Edgar Martinez hit the ball. And therefore became hooked on Mariners baseball.

5. I got to sing to Dave Matthews with Becca and Ryan.

6. I walked 500 miles around the city and got some very cherished blisters on my feet.

7. I saw the hot guys at the fish market throwing fish and took pictures.

8. I ate fresh raspberries and blueberries and chased a pigon (sp?).

9. I got to see "real live" mountains with "real live" snow on them.

10. I learned that where there is a McDonalds, there is also a SubWay close by:)

And the best part...

10. I got to wake up every morning and breathe in the fresh (somewhat smogged) northern air.

My only regret is that they didn't see the real me. Maybe they thought they saw it, or maybe I just didn't stick around long enough for them to see it. Either way, one day ammends will be made and the clashing of personalities won't be so frequent.

-------

So, it's my first "official" day back.

I don't exactly know how I feel. I woke up in a bad mood, which didn't start off my work day very well. I had actually resigned myself to silently pondering the many questions of life all day, when an old lady turned my day around.

She gave me (get this) a $7.28 tip!

It was crazy. She said it was because I was (and quote me on this) "so nice and helpful". That small token of appriciation was all I needed to turn my day around. God deserves the credit on that one, so thanks God!

-------

Alright guys, well it's good to be back. Now I can go back to updating every day and blessing you all with my endless charm and wit.

Enjoy!

4:03 p.m. ::
prev :: next