::Unexpected Liberation::
"drinking coffee; making plans to change the world."

I have a sudden headache, and my stomach is in knots. I wonder why..

February 22, 2005
I thought people became smarter in college.

Don't believe it. It's a lie.

I just spent a good hour and fifteen minutes in the most annoying way possible. Sitting in English, listening to my class debate on Northerners, the war, and Black History Month.

Torture. That's what it was. I could hardly contain myself from jumping up and screaming "Nooooooooooo. STOP THE MADNESS".

I held it in. Just barely.

I did, however, during the "Northerners are very blunt and rude" debate, raise my hand and say "I'm from the North. I love it. That's it." After which, I continued to sit in silent tortured thought and pray for class to end soon. It didn't.

I got to hear how being slaves long ago is still a painful memory (although, I don't believe that the people saying these things had grandparents old enough to be slaves, let alone be them themselves), and how having one month during the year in which to celebrate their heritage just isn't enough. Please. Complain about being oppressed some more, and then get upset when there aren't more days for you to single yourself out from everyone else. We came from the same God, right?

Yeah. I thought so.

I got the hear the neverending war debate, which, for the sake of my dying sanity, I will not go into.

Why is it that debate is such a part of who we are? It's no wonder the United States is so hated by the rest of the world. As a people, we have set out to prove to everyone that we are right, and our word is truth. It's a fact that can be seen in how we relate to others around us, and even to ourselves.

And just for the record, opinions do not annoy me. Uneducated verbal thoughts do.

I have nothing left to say. My stomach hurts.

9:37 a.m. ::
prev :: next