::Unexpected Liberation::
"drinking coffee; making plans to change the world."

I see my hell as the closet I'm stuck inside..part two

January 26, 2004
As a child of divorce, it never affected me much. I don't remember my parents as ever "being together" and so I wasn't missing anything.

I'm told that my mother gave me back to my father when I was two because I was "too much to handle", and although the intial divorce didn't affect me, that did. Of course, I don't remember it at all, but just knowing that a woman could be that unfeeling of her own child is a pain I have to bear daily. Naturally, she says it never happend, but there is no evidence on her part whatsoever to prove it wrong.

And so, I am inclined to believe that it's all true.

I do have a point to all this..stay with me...

I work a guy named Brian. He's going through a divorce with his wife right now and we talk about it sometimes because, well, he has to get out his feelings somehow. He has a very young daughter whom he talks about all the time and it's very evident that he adores her. Today, his wife brought her in for some reason or another and he was walking around holding her and she was clinging to him in that "young child" way.

I have never seen him so happy, and his huge smile as he walked around with her was just beautiful.

When they left though, his daughter was reaching out to him and all he could do was stand there. He couldn't run after his ex-wife and take her, all he could do was watch. It was one of the saddest things I've ever seen. Tears came to my eyes and I had to look away.

How a parent couldn't love a child is beyond me. Seeing Brian and how much he loves his daughter teaches me to never take my children (when and if I have them) for granted.

-------

Welcome back Ryan! It was good to see you, don't be a stranger while you're home (as if you could help it). Take care.

-------

In honor of my 200th entry, I challenge each of you to find a favorite entry of mine and let me know about it! I write so randomly sometimes that I never know if anyone actually liked/got anything out of it. So when you find it, leave me a note and let me know so I can re-read and enjoy it too!!

4:15 p.m. ::
prev :: next