::Unexpected Liberation::
"drinking coffee; making plans to change the world."

Dear God,

March 31, 2005
Helloooooo stranger, where ya been all my life?

I know, that was so not funny.

Actually, it has been awhile since I've written You a letter, and I since was thinking about You this morning, I figured now is as good a time as any.

How have things been for You? I'm sure you've been getting a kick out of my "late for class again" morning rituals...although it has been cutting back on the time I spend with You. It seems like I never have enough time for us anymore, even for a short prayer most days, and I hate that. I think about You all the time though, but I'm sure you know.

Crazy as it may seem to be saying this to You, the Bible was right. I asked You to give me guidance about camp, and You did. Ask and you shall recieve...great advice. Even though we haven't been as close lately, I still turn to You for things...and You still help me out. I'm excited to tell those kids about You, God. And I know they'll be excited too. Thanks for answering my small prayer; it has restored something inside of me that I was sure was gone.

You know, I haven't really said Thank You to You lately. All of the wonderful chances You have given me to be a part of something fantastic, and I haven't really thanked You. Wow. The people You have brought into my life, the peace You have given me, the happiness I'm feeling that I thought I had lost...all thanks to You. It's so hard to be a Christian sometimes, and I don't always praise the right person for the wonderful things that happen. Like the past two days. The sun was shining, the air was warm, and people were smiling. You did that, didn't you? Thanks. The week started off rough, and I almost felt as though I was sinking again...but then You came and opened me up. Helped me to talk about my feelings to someone who cares, brought the sun out to hang for awhile, and surrounded me with friends. All because You love me so much. Thanks.

I really think that it's a blessing that You've brought certain people into my life. Without them, I don't know where I would be. You recognize that I need these people, and You bring them to me. You know the ones I can do without, and You help me to do so. Want to know what I love about You? The fact that You know my heart...and love me still. You know that I can't stop caring for people that may not be the best influence for me, and so You help me to see the faults and to feel guilt when I fall with them. I love being able to say that the God that I worship is Loving and Accepting...and I try so hard to be the same.

Monica wrote the other day "But it's so simple, really. The only perfect man was Jesus. The only real men are the ones who want to be like Him", and I totally agree with her. You've brought that man into my life...and wow, You've outdone Yourself with this one. I scared though, so incredibly scared. I asked You to never again bring someone like this into my life if they weren't the one You wanted me with. I asked. A million times. I prayed that prayer so much, and begged You to never do it again unless it was real. I'm sure You remember. And here it is, real and in front of me...and I'm terrified.

Sometimes it seems that nothing makes sense. I see so many of my friends going through the motions of life, and not really taking the time to sit and actually think about why they're here. I just wish that more of them were involved in things at church, or even went to church. Even a small Bible study every week...something. I went eighteen years of my life without knowing You, and now that You are here, my guilt is incredible when I forget to remember You everyday. I just wish they knew how hard things are outside of this little bubble we live in, and recognize that we need You. Desperately.

Goodness. I've been writing for quite some time. I hope You're reading this....because it really has been awhile.

Hmmm. I'm not sure what to say now. I guess I'll conclude with asking a few favors. Feel free to ask a few in return...I don't mind.

Could You help me out with this summer? I know You'll be there and all, but I'm going to need You. A lot. And could You continue to put a song or thought in my head every morning? Waking up thinking about You in a nice way to wake up, even if it is stormy outside. Oh yeah, and this Cubed thing...give me the courage to be there. I feel so different from those people sometimes, but I know that I come with a story to tell...as do they. Help me to show the love You've given me to them, and help to fan those fires that they already have burning for You. And my friends, too. Be with them, God. All of them. They need You so much. It's so hard to be a Christian these days, and the embarrassment that we're made to feel is insane. So please be with their hearts, and let them know that it's okay to love You.

See you soon,

Cassie


9:20 a.m. ::
prev :: next