::Unexpected Liberation::
"drinking coffee; making plans to change the world."

She walks best at night.

June 19, 2006
I love the sound of barefeet on the pavement.

Somewhere in my head, it brings me a sense of calm. Taking barefoot walks around my neighborhood makes me happy. Calm.

well I just wanna laugh my way through life
and no worry about whether they think what I'm doing is wrong or right
cause ive got so much to learn
and you know this fires just dying to burn...

These lyrics have been running through my head all day, and I can't seem to shake them. Even now, as I listen to the song, I find myself waiting to hear those words. I live by those words.

Tonight, someone said to me "Most people don't know what they want. They think they do...but they don't. Because if they knew what they wanted, they'd have it." My mind went spinning as those words sunk in, and I remembered days when they were completely true. I always wanted to be the exception; always wanted to know what I wanted and who I was. Somehow, in my nineteen year old mind, if I really knew what I wanted then I'd be better than other people who didn't. I wanted to be that person.

I learned just like everyone else. You can't be the exception, you can't have it all, and you can't define yourself by what you aren't. Life just has to wash over you, and you're going to have to let it. Once I realized what I could and couldn't control, I had it made.

And everything else was just a note in the margin.

Most days, I view everything as simple.

Simple like daisies. Simple like the little piece of hair that curls at your neck. Simple like a stray eyelash, or that one crooked tooth.

Simple like the sound of barefeet on pavement.

2:15 a.m. ::
prev :: next