::Unexpected Liberation::
"drinking coffee; making plans to change the world."

like the desert waiting for the rain...

December 02, 2003
I made my first "girly" doctor appointment today.

And I was scared out of my mind.

As much as I like my stepmom, we've never had that close mother/daughter relationship. It's probably my fault, but I was never comfortable having one. I never felt like she wanted to give one either, and so, I just taught myself all the "girl" things growing up. I didn't ask advice, and she didn't give it.

Today though, I could have used a shoulder to lean on.

I looked through the phonebook for a woman doctor, called, made an appointment, and asked a zillion questions. All on the verge of tears. And all on my own.

To make it worse, I don't have anyone who will sit in the waiting room with me, hug me afterwards, and I have to do all of this on my birthday since it's my only day off.

I know that I shouldn't complain...but just once I wish I had my mom here to be with me.

3:48 p.m. ::
prev :: next