::Unexpected Liberation::
"drinking coffee; making plans to change the world."

Family reunions...do you want me to scream?

June 09, 2004
I just got done talking to my little sister. She's mad at me, and I honestly don't care.

My mother's side of the family is having a family reunion at the end of July, and as a "member" of the family, I have been invited. I decided years and years ago that I wasn't going to attend one of those things...no matter how much pleading my sisters did. For some reason, they can't understand why I wouldn't want to go...and so they get mad at me when I try to explain.

It's quite simple, really...

When I was growing up, those people never showed an interest in me. Never called on birthdays or holidays, and for years they had forgotten I was even a child of my mother. It's not hard to see why they did these things, given the background between my mother and I, but it still annoys me. So I just promised myself that I wouldn't put myself through any more pain and past hurt if I didn't need to. And I don't.

My two sisters DO NOT, however, understand my feelings on this issue. I've had long talks with Becca on my feelings toward that side of my family, and since she's older than me, I believe she does understand...she just wishes things were different. Elizabeth is different story. She grew up around those people, and for the most part, they are the only family she has ever known. Aside from that fact, she is only fifteen and doesn't understand much about depth and understanding. All three of us have grown up very different, and Liz just doesn't have the mental capability to digest my feelings about the family she loves. And so she is mad at me.

All of this said, I still don't want to go to the reunion, not even a little bit.

I saw my Aunt and Uncle over Christmas for the first time in...ever. My Grandma was there too, but seeing her wasn't quite a shock. It was very surreal, and although Rick was there, I didn't like it very much. That short meeting was enough to last me a long, long time.

I guess you could say that I'm not into the whole family thing.

Actually, that's not entirely true. I loved being around Rick's family, and I get very excited about the thought of my own family someday, I just loathe the thought of being around my mother's family.

Is it wrong not to care?

5:47 p.m. ::
prev :: next