::Unexpected Liberation::
"drinking coffee; making plans to change the world."

...And everything was as it should be.

January 19, 2006
I left my apron in my car.

I had put an awesome quote in there to share, and my apron is in my car. Kind of upsetting.

Rick was married last weekend. It's so weird to think about him being married, but it's true. He is. It just reminds me of a time when we had talked about marriage, and we were both so sure that it was going to happen.

Now, of course, I recognize that marriage to him is something I would never want...and still, I feel strange about it. When I first heard of their engagement, my reaction wasn't one of surprise. I am rarely surprised by anything, and it didn't phase me in the least. In fact, the only reaction I felt was relief. The only thought that kept running through my head was "Man, I'm so glad that's not me." At this stage in my life, marriage isn't something that I want or even long for. Who knows? I may never get married, and that fact doesn't phase me either.

These days, relationships are so complicated. The awkward stage of "getting to know each other" just keeps getting more awkward and hard, and as I become more set in my ways of living, it becomes harder to find "that person" who I really believe I click with. I believe that relationships should all be about honesty, trust, and loyalty. They should be about commitment and integrity, and should always be open without fear of judgement. I truly believe that relationships like these are hard to find, and when found, they should be kept and held close.

Relationships are much like gardens. While they should never be seasonal, you need to water them, put fresh dirt around them, add new things, prune the bad things, and always stop to enjoy the beauty that already is. You should walk out your door everyday and feel a sense of pride and happiness, and not neglect for lack of time. Gardens do not keep themselves beautiful, it takes effort. It takes time, patience, and dedication. And lots of it.

I digress.

Goodnight.

1:30 a.m. ::
prev :: next