::Unexpected Liberation::
"drinking coffee; making plans to change the world."

Nothing a little junk food won't fix...

March 10, 2006
My sister and I, are seriously (no joke), the coolest chicks around.

And to be fair, Brother Sean and his friend J.C are the coolest (no joke) guys around.

Okay....I'll start at the beginning.

Becca and I decided that tonight was Girls Night. So, after our daily lives finished for the day, we headed up to Seattle to see a Tristan Prettyman show.

If you don't know her or her music, you should. She's wonderful.

ANYWAY. I insisted upon using my car for the trip because we always use her car when we go somewhere (my sister has issues with car controlling) and since it was mainly my idea...I wanted to drive. Mistake numero uno.

Just as we are about to get on the 405 (read: BUSY freeway), my car decided to quit working. Not only does it decide to NOT accelerate so I can continue on my happy little way up the on ramp (which was my gateway OFF another busy highway that I had just been driving on) but I was getting no power either. None. Zippo. My car decided it was finished driving me around, and so we stopped.

There we sat. For an hour and a half.

I freaked out, my sister laughed at me, I laughed at me, I laughed at her, we called everyone we could think of, we retold the story to each other, and we sat. For an hour and a half on the side of a busy interchange.

Finally, Becca got ahold on Brother Sean and he (along with his friend J.C) decided to drive 30 minutes from Tacoma to come save us. Brothers are wonderful....I love them. J.C poked at my engine, banged on things, gave me advice, and tried everything he could to figure out the situation. Then a police officer finally decided to stop as well (after two passed us by) and offered to call a tow truck.

Which we did. Three different ones. After a short debate, we decided on the "not so reliable but okay" service called Skyline. Great, next came the waiting.

Okay....skipping ahead about 10 minutes....

We are sitting in J.C's car, waiting for Tow Truck Man to arrive. When all of a sudden there is a knock on Becca's window. She had taken it upon herself to sit in the drivers seat of J.C's car, and therefore, fully visible to anyone who could see in. Sean and I are sitting in the backseat, and Becca is staring at this strange man with a terrified look on her face. As she fumbles with the power windows, she rolls down mine instead....giving me the option of speaking to him. He turns to me and says "Uh, how do you get to SeaTac from here?" I kindly tell him that if he just keeps going on the same road we're on....it's five minutes away. He says "Okay thanks" and walks away.

Naturally, Becca and I assumed that we were about to be murdered by some strange man who thought it was just us in the car, and we start freaking out again. Who in the world stops to ask a stranded motorist for DIRECTIONS when it's obvious that they are STRANDED MOTORISTS??? Goodness. Luckily, he drove away quick.

Okay. Enter: Ralph the-almost-toothless Tow Truck Driver Man.

I have never seen such a spectacle of a man in my entire life. Friendly though he was, he was obviously a little "gone". A fact which became apparent the minute he spoke. Hmmmm...I don't want to bag on him too much though, he did help me.

And I am going to hurry up and end this because I am absolutely exhausted....

So basically, I was charged $80 to tow my car two blocks to the Honda dealership (where they will likely screw me over in the morning when I call to check on my car....which I had to leave there with my key in some night drop box where it will probably get stolen by the cleaning ladies I saw peeping around the curtains at us). Oh, and the "security guard" they hired to watch the place? Yeah, he was boozing out back. It was witnessed.

Happy Thursday/Early Friday, kids.

My boy comes in four-ish days:)

(And I'm sorry if any part of this entry was confusing or strangely worded....being out in the cold rain for four hours doesn't help my ability to write. Thank you and goodnight)

2:26 a.m. ::
prev :: next